top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarcus Sladden

Why, What, Who, Where, When and How?

In November 2017 I ran my first marathon, the time in my mind was sub 3 hours. Which would guarantee me a good for age entry for London Marathon 2019. I ran 2:56:47. Mission Accomplished.


So this leads on to the current challenge, I want to document my training, diet, lifestyle and all the bits and bobs that effect my year leading up to VMLM 2019. My target time will be 2:45 which will enable me to qualify for a championship entry for London Marathon the following year.


So that answers the Who, What, Where and How is self explanatory, I’m going to put one foot in front of the other for many many miles leading up to the race. Time to explain the why….


Doing something like this will enable me to get some order in my life (Which is pretty non-existent at the moment!) I also want to do this for a specific charity, so I can tell their story as well as mine along the way (and hopefully get some funding their way too!!)


The charity of choice is Earthwatch Europe. Here is their story:


They believe that working together is essential to tackling the threats to the natural world: the impacts of climate change, the declining health of our rivers and oceans, and the loss of wildlife and habitats.


In addition to empowering the public, they inspire the next generation through their education programmes, engage with businesses to address environmental challenges and enable scientists to connect with communities.


Around the world, their vibrant community of Earthwatchers inspires and drives positive change through individual and collective action, creating a more sustainable future and advancing scientific knowledge.


The changes they make in their homes, workplaces and communities, along with their contributions to scientific research, combine to deliver global impact.


Their mission is to engage people worldwide in scientific field research and education to promote the understanding and action necessary for a sustainable environment.


They envision a world in which we live within our means and in balance with nature.


They believe that future decisions regarding the environment must be based on objective science and must engage and empower people and organisations to act responsibly if they are to be sustainable.


So there you have it people. I hope you will follow me on this journey, it’s going to be an exciting one!


I’m going to be documenting this on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Youtube and through my website as a blog. I’ll chuck some links down below for your social media preference of choice to follow my journey on! I can’t wait to hear from you all! :D





36 views0 comments
bottom of page